top of page

I Think It's Better - Memoirs of an Immigrant

This was the place I met Her. This is was where we had our first date. This was where we fell in love.

This was where we had our first pillow fight. This was where she held my hand and wouldn't let go.

This was where we laughed and had so much fun. This was where she walked away from me one last time. This was the place she broke my heart.

We had loved in a place with no space or time. We had fought the Winter together under covers.

She was called beautiful. She was sunlight. She was universe. She was morning, midday, night.

Have you ever loved someone so much it hurts like hell? To see the love she once gave, given to someone else?

To see the love you made, the joys, the praise saved for someone else?

I plucked stars from the sky for her. Rings from saturn even. I sang songs for her. Shared secrets. Truths. Ambitions.

Gone were forevers together. Visions of a perfect love shattered into a million pieces.

I died every night.

Then one day Love returned, knocking intently at my door. I opened.

She whispered, "You and I."

I winced. "Never again."

I hastily slammed the door shut.

We had made samba and love in a past life, now all I wanted to do was sleep.

-KJA

Visit the Memoirs of an immigrant blog here

bottom of page