top of page

Toyosi Faridah Kekere- Ekun - Fashion Photographer

This month our Female All Rounder is a talented photographer who recently debuted her photography collection titled “Induction” in Lagos, Nigeria. Read about it here

Attachment-1_edited.jpeg

She tells us why she moved back to Nigeria and how her journey as a fashion photographer began.

At what age did you decide you wanted to do something different from the norm?

I was about 20 when I decided to pursue photography as a career

How did you get started with photography?

My family was always one to document our childhoods so I grew up around cameras and camcorders for as long as I can remember. It wasn’t until 2010 that I identified photography as more than just a hobby and something that if I took seriously could develop into a career thanks to my dear friend Emma who introduced me to the wonderful world of DSLR cameras, and my brother Bolaji a filmmaker who taught me the basics of framing a good image.

Who is your typical audience?

I would say working in Fashion and Portraiture I’m fortunate to have quite a wide-ranging audience because those are 2 fields that apply to almost everyone and attract people of all ages. Likewise my more artistic and personal projects in photography are often mediums for story-telling which is something that people across generations are able to understand and relate to.

What have been some of your greatest challenges so far in pursuing this field?

The fact that I’m pursuing this line of work in Nigeria means that there are certain factors we as Africans are all too familiar with that pose a challenge for me such as “African Time” (constant tardiness) and quite a few people being unable to accept the given value of things they cannot physically quantify like artistic services. This means I spend a lot of time and effort trying to convince potential clients of my worth rather than actually working. That being said it makes it all the more rewarding working with the clients that really get it!

What else are you passionate about?

I’m very passionate about learning and sharing information. I am constantly searching for “brain food” and encouraging others to do the same particularly from reading books and articles.

Which three people would you most like to invite to a dinner party and why?

I don’t have an answer to this question. I’m quite happy stumbling through life and being surprised by new people and intriguing characters I encounter along the way.

What’s the biggest risk you’ve ever taken?

Moving to France for a year by myself with very limited knowledge of the country, the culture, the people and especially the language. That year was certainly a roller coaster adventure and a risk well worth it!

What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made in your life and how did you overcome it?

I don’t think of anything I’ve done as a mistake so much as a wrong turn taken to arrive at a more fitting end, learning a lot of lessons along the way. The phrase that gets me through any of those missteps is one from my sage of a grandmother who says “a hundred years is not forever” and that encourages me to patient and trust that there’s a bigger plan I just can’t see yet. Never fails.

How would you like to inspire other young women?

As appealing as the thought might be I struggle to consider myself now or in the future as an inspiration to anyone else! What I find is that in looking up to people you eventually are faced with their fallibility which can be disappointing so I would rather advise other young women to be inspired by their innate goodness, positivity, strength and sense of purpose as a cog in the world’s machine. Constantly being in competition with oneself as opposed to other people (other women especially) is for me a great way to improve as a person.

In your opinion, what are the top 3 qualities a well- rounded female should have?

A well-rounded woman should be hardworking and never expect anything to be handed to her. She should be passionate and driven in whatever she chooses to pursue and finally she should be honest in her dealings with everyone she comes in contact with irrespective of any distinguishing features they may have.

How do you feel pursuing your career in Nigeria has aided or hindered your progress in this field?

More than ever working in Nigeria has taught me the necessity of self-belief and having a clear understanding of oneself and the things one is not willing to compromise on. It really helps you place your feet firmly in the world and helps cement some of the values you’ve been raised with such as respecting people’s time and doing things forthrightly, by having to apply them - sometimes arduously - to everyday life.

In all honesty, and this is a very personal perspective, I’ve felt a bit stunted in my creativity as a result of certain infrastructural limitations. For example I find it difficult to explore different locations for shoots because of safety concerns particularly as a woman working on my own.

Despite all this I wouldn’t consider building my career anywhere else because you have to break down barriers in order to grow and make an impact, not just for yourself but for others as well. Lagos is home to me and being a part of a growing industry is a blessing and an exciting feat.

View her portfolio here.

bottom of page